Software Development Redmond, Washington
Microsoft published a 15-minute demo of SharePoint Embedded updates, presented by Steve Pucelik during a Microsoft 365 and Power Platform community call on August 18. The description says the demo covers changes across AI, APIs, administration and billing. For developers and administrators, the main takeaway is a checklist of areas to assess, rather than a detailed explanation of each change in the available transcript.
The video description groups the updates across several themes. For AI and agent scenarios, it names Foundry knowledge sources and the SharePoint Embedded MCP server. It also identifies the retrieval API as generally available, but does not explain its request format, setup, or how it compares with other retrieval approaches.
Other listed topics include scale and throttling guidance, searchable columns, service principal support, least-privilege permissions and URL templates. The description also mentions creating apps in the admin center, pay-as-you-go services, archive billing and reorganized documentation. It does not provide the specific limits, settings, eligibility rules or billing details for those items.
SharePoint Embedded is relevant to developers building applications that use SharePoint-based content capabilities, and to the administrators responsible for managing those applications. The topics named in the demo point to practical concerns: how applications retrieve content, manage access, handle scale and account for service costs. Those concerns matter when assessing an implementation or reviewing its operational requirements.
The mention of least-privilege permissions and service principal support makes authorization an explicit part of the update overview. However, the provided description does not state what permissions are required or how service principal support changes an application’s configuration. Likewise, it flags pay-as-you-go services and archive billing without naming prices, billing units or licensing conditions.
For makers and end users, the supplied material does not describe a direct change to a SharePoint interface or a new end-user workflow. The video is framed around platform capabilities and developer or administrator considerations. Organizations should therefore treat the list as a set of subjects to investigate, not as confirmation that a particular feature changes their daily user experience.
The supplied description is an overview, not a transcript of the demonstrations. It names the retrieval API and MCP server but does not give steps for using either. MCP, or Model Context Protocol, is included in the server’s name; the available source does not explain its implementation or supported operations.
A useful way to review the topics is to group them by responsibility, without assuming details that the description does not provide:
This grouping is an editorial reading aid based on the subjects Microsoft lists, not a sequence of steps shown in the provided transcript. The available material does not establish prerequisites, configuration procedures or migration actions.
The available description does not include the detailed demo transcript, so it is not possible to verify what was shown for each update or how the capabilities behave. It also does not specify which items are generally available, in preview or otherwise limited, apart from describing the retrieval API as generally available. No tenant, region or license scope is stated.
Several operational questions remain unanswered in the supplied material: the actual scale and throttling guidance, how searchable columns are configured, what permissions service principals receive, and how archive billing or pay-as-you-go charges are calculated. The description is enough to identify subjects for follow-up, but not enough to support deployment decisions or estimate cost.
The video description identifies the retrieval API as generally available. It does not give its prerequisites or licensing details.
The description lists the server as a demo topic but does not state its release stage.
It names pay-as-you-go services and archive billing, but provides no prices, billing units or eligibility details.